The Perfect Ciliate

meAmy Stephens

The end is near! It has been a long few weeks but I’m going to miss sampling once it’s over. I wont miss the cold or the rain but I will miss the gorgeous scenery and eccentric discussions with my OA team on the dock.

Phytoplankton counts have gone up since we removed the mesh caps. I’m especially happy because it has made counting phytoplankton under the microscope more exciting. With my spare time, I’ve decided to go back and count more volume to get a more accurate picture of the phytoplankton community. The near empty slides from T0 make me appreciate the diverse and abundant community we have now even more.

To continue my trend of sharing what I see under the microscope, I’m sharing the perfect ciliate that I found while counting T16 today.

20130427_160726

Leave a Reply

