A night on the town…

179542_3643780006105_2023477582_n  Kiely Shutt

It’s been almost two weeks since we’ve been at the labs and although it’s beautiful here, a few of us have gotten a little stir crazy. What better cure than to enjoy a night out in the small Friday Harbor town? Even though it’s Friday night and that doesn’t mean much in the middle of a mescosm experiment, our group (minus Andrew) enjoyed a nice dinner at Cask & Schooner Public House & Restaurant tonight. While we love the dining hall at the labs, eating here was a great treat.

Image

Image

 

While I can’t speak for all of us, I can say that studying at the labs has been nothing short of beautiful. Even though the weather hasn’t been exactly perfect, the setting is ideal for studying and socializing with people who share your interests. Whether it’s hiking the trails, sharing a meal, or working together on the experiment, we’re enjoying each other’s company! We all stay very busy in the lab so it helps to be working on such a beautiful campus.

IMG_4719

A view of the Fernald building at Friday Harbor Labs

IMG_4850

A double rainbow viewed from the Shore Trail off of the lab’s campus

I plan on sharing more of what I’m working on in my next post. I thought I would break it up by sharing what we do and what we get to see in our off-time. I will be firing up the scanning electron microscope (SEM) on Sunday! Working with the SEM has been a dream of mine for a few years so I’m beyond excited to get to work with one. I can’t wait to share more of my personal experiment!

 

Leave a Reply

